• Our Minecraft servers are offline but we will keep this forum online for any community communication. Site permissions for posting could change at a later date but will remain online.

Allow mappers to set chest content

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kanachi

Tribute
Reaction score
Hiya, I’m in the process of making a map and a while ago I asked on the map forum if it was possible, as the designer of the map, to somehow specify the range of random items which can appear within each specific chest across the map.

This would afford the map designer a far greater amount of power to present their map in the way they had intended it.

I’m no coder so I’ve no idea how complex this would be or if there is another alternative which could be implemented to achieve a similar result.

thanks!

Demanter

Career
Reaction score
This is not possible.

The Survival Games plugin makes all chests random.
You cannot choose what will be in them.

Kanachi

Tribute
Reaction score
This is not possible.

The Survival Games plugin makes all chests random.
You cannot choose what will be in them.
I'm confused, are we not making suggestions here for things which should be edited within the survival games plugin itself? Is the plugin something which cant be altered in any way?

It just seems like such a shame if no one can control what items are spawning and where. Items determine the pace and play style of a map. It seems like a huge oversight not to include a way to manage them in any way.

Kanachi

Tribute
Reaction score
Sorry I'm obviously being very stupid here or fail to understand. Are you saying its impossible to edit the plugin in any way? If so why is this?

Parakoopa

Tribute
Reaction score
Sorry I'm obviously being very stupid here or fail to understand. Are you saying its impossible to edit the plugin in any way? If so why is this?
I don't think it's impossible. As far as I know the plugin CAN already change the content of chests (speaking of corn chests etc. now)