• Our Minecraft servers are offline but we will keep this forum online for any community communication. Site permissions for posting could change at a later date but will remain online.

Guide Guide to Criticism

Lively

District 13
Reaction score
I've been on these forums for a fair amount of time, and you've probably seen me around. As some of may know I am a writer. I've also been an active contributor on multiple writing communities. Because of this, I take criticism very seriously. On a few different thread on these forums, I've seen some horrible criticism and horrible reactions to criticism. So I thought I would take some time and make a guide to criticism.

Here are the most important things to remember when writing criticism:
  1. Be respectful.
  2. Don't be a jerk. You don't have to be nice, but don't be a complete dork.
  3. Do not attack the creator of the content.
Here are some things to remember when taking criticism:
  1. Respect other people's opinions.
  2. Don't be disheartened if you get negative feedback.
  3. Pay particular attention to people who have significant experience in what your content deals with.
Those are the basic rules. Here are a few detailed explanations and a few other tips:
  • If you have no positive feedback to say, say it anyways. We want people to improve, not to butter their ego. Pointing out flaws in an idea can show them what they did wrong. If you say that everything is perfect, then they will think that everything is perfect, even if there are flaws. But remember, be respectful.
    • Note: People who are being critiqued, do not expect people to only give positive feedback that is not negative whatsoever. This can severely hurt you because you aren't willing to listen to feedback, even when it's constructive.