• Our Minecraft servers are offline but we will keep this forum online for any community communication. Site permissions for posting could change at a later date but will remain online.

Map Generator

Good Idea?

• Yes

Votes: 3 50.0%
  • No

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Not Possible

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other (Post a reply)

Votes: 1 16.7%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

CodeGlue

Experienced
Reaction score
Essentially I was thinking it would be cool if MCSG were able to alter the map generator to create a new map every round. I have seen mods on Minecraft that allow you to alter how the terrain is generated as well as spawn custom structures within the generator, so I feel it would be fairly simple to implement this into these server. Sadly I am not a coder so I don't know the logistics of this but I feel it is possible.

I understand that there has and is much work being put into the current and future maps but I think it would add more depth to the servers if every time you spawned into a world you had no idea what you would be facing like the tributes did. If this idea is shot down I feel we could possibly use a generator to create base maps then have the talented builders alter it from their.

Clbrend

Career
Reaction score
But can it generate redstone traps?...

But i like the idea. Having a new map all the time would be really awesome!

InvincibleForce

Survivor
Reaction score
I like having one map variation. Soon we will be getting more maps from forum members that will be implemented and also vareide's new map though so I think that is a better solution. :)

Thejoker1177

Tribute
Reaction score
I like having one map variation. Soon we will be getting more maps from forum members that will be implemented and also vareide's new map though so I think that is a better solution. :)
Same here. I don't want generated maps because some may be downright bad.

GammaDude1

Tribute
Reaction score